6 ARR RAW: Importance of Off-Road Riding Experience, One or Two Piece Riding Suits and Riding in Extreme Heat

ARR RAW Round Table Discussion with Travellers.

Featuring Grant Johnson, Brian Rix, Shirley Hardy-Rix, Sam Manicom, Graham Field and Jim Martin. 

Jim Martin

Jim Martin

RAW Episode 6 Topics:

The Importance of Getting Some Off-Road Riding Experience

Grant Johnson

Grant Johnson

 This topic inspired by Sam Manicom, as he is doing some riding in the United States. Last month we talked about road riding experience. What about if you have lots of that but aren’t prepared for any off-road trails? How to get some experience with a school or on your own.

Riding Gear - One or Two Piece Suits

Sam Manicom

Sam Manicom

- advantages, disadvantage
- likes or dislikes
- how does weather, or climate affect what you should wear
- which would be better for heading out on lengthy adventure

Shirley Hardy-Rix, Brian Rix

Shirley Hardy-Rix, Brian Rix

Riding in Extreme Heat and Staying Safe While You Do It

- staying hydrated and how does dehydration affect you in the heat, how much water can you expect to carry for a certain distance?
- heat exhaustion and heat stroke - signs and prevention        
- dressing for riding in heat 

Show Picks & Plugs

Grant Johnsonwww.horizunsunlimited.com
PICK: Electric/Heated Vests
PLUG : HUMM Spain - http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/humm/humm-info

Graham Field

Graham Field

Sam Manicom www.sam-manicom.com
PICK: Jesse Luggage https://m.facebook.com/jesse.luggage/
PLUG: The Overland Event http://www.overlandevent.com/

Shirley Hardy-Rix & Brian Rixwww.aussiesoverland.com.au
PICK: 
PLUG: Motorcycle Investor: www.facebook.com/motorcycleinvestor www.motorcycleinvestor.com
Aussies Overland New book! "The Long Way to Vladivostok" http://www.aussiesoverland.com.au

Graham Fieldhttp://grahamfield.co.uk/
PICK:
PLUG:

Jim Martin - www.adventureriderradio.com
PICK: inReach Explorer www.inreachcanada.com

Music used: A Day In The Sun by Per Kiilstofte https://machinimasound.com/music/a-day-in-the-sun Licensed under Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/)